Sister Cities International Welcomes New Board of Directors and Elects New Executive Leadership

2018 Board of Directors

Following a membership-wide election, 11 individuals were elected to Sister Cities International’s Board of Directors. The elections took place during Sister Cities International’s Annual Business Meeting at its 2018 Annual Conference in Aurora, Colorado on August 3, 2018.

Ron Nirenberg of San Antonio, Texas assumed his position as Board Chairman after serving two years as Vice Chair, and Carol Robertson Lopez of Santa Fe, New Mexico was elected as Vice Chair by the Board of Directors. Lawrence Uebner of Omaha, Nebraska was re-elected as Treasurer. Clare Petrich of Tacoma, Washington was elected as Secretary.

Alix Desulme of North Miami, Florida; Shin Koyamada of Los Angeles, California; Roger Lawrence of Baltimore, Maryland; Ginger Moxey of Freeport, Bahamas; Carolina Rendeiro of Coral Gables, Florida; Helene Schneider of Santa Barbara, California; and Polly Yu of San Antonio, Texas were elected to three-year terms. Sheri Capehart of Arlington, Texas; Edmund Adams of Cincinnati, Ohio; and Christine Warnke of Washington, D.C. were elected to two-year terms. Courtney Bennett of Washington, DC was elected as the Young Professional Representative for a two year term.

Ron Nirenberg, Chairman of the Board of Directors and Mayor of San Antonio, Texas appointed two at-large members for one year terms: Mae Ferguson of Fort Worth, Texas and Suhail Arastu of San Antonio, Texas. Peter Svarzbein, a councilmember for the City of El Paso, Texas was also appointed to complete the remaining year of Dave Cortese’s board term.

Sister Cities International congratulates the new Board Members and executive leadership and looks forward to their contribution in advancing Sister Cities International’s mission: to promote peace through mutual respect, understanding, and cooperation—one individual, one community at a time.

Learn more about our Board of Directors