Board of Directors

Sister Cities International is governed by a 24-member Board of Directors.  Twenty-one members who represent the general voting members of SCI are elected by the membership at the Annual Business Meeting; One Director position is filled by the Chair of the Board; One Director position is filled by a qualified State Representative, nominated by the Chair and approved by the Board of Directors; and one Director position is filled by a Young Professional Representative, between the ages of 21 and 34, that is elected by the membership.

Board members serve three-year terms.  The Chair of the Board, Young Professional Representative and State Representative each serve two-year terms. Board of Directors terms are staggered.  The Board elects the secretary and treasurer of the Board, who each serve one-year terms and the vice-chair, who serves a two-year term.

Please click the button below for more information about the 2021 Board of Directors Elections.

Board of Directors


Peter Svarzbein (2022)
El Paso, TX


Presley (Lee) Guio (2021)
Union City, California


Mary B. Pointer (2023)
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Board Member Name Title City
Cincinnati, Ohio
Joe Buscaino (2021)
Los Angeles, California
Arlington, Texas
North Miami, Florida
Irvine, California
Hays, Kansas
Deborah Foster (2022)
Alexandria, Virginia
Clinton, Mississippi
Fort Worth, Texas
East Orange, New Jersey
Cincinnati, Ohio
Baltimore, Maryland
Michael McQuary (2023)
San Diego, California
San Francisco, California
San Jose, California
Gilroy, California
Santa Barbara, California
Atlanta, Georgia
Larry Uebner (2023)
Omaha, Nebraska
Washington, DC
San Antonio, Texas
Non-Voting Members Title City
Chair, Honorary Board Alumni
Fort Worth, Texas
Tom Lisk
Richmond, Virginia
Chair Emeritus (Ex-officio)
San Antonio, Texas
Mary Palko
Global Envoy
Fort Worth, Texas
President, SCI Foundation
San Jose, California

PAST Chairs

Ron Nirenberg                |   San Antonio, Texas

Stephen “Tim” Quigley |   San Jose, California

Bill Boerum                     |   Sonoma, California

Thomas A. Lisk              |    Richmond, Virginia

Brad Cole                        |    Carbondale, Illinois

Michael Hyatt                |    Fort Worth, Texas

Mae Ferguson               |    Fort Worth, Texas

Sherman Banks            |     Little Rock, Arkansas

Glenn Gray                     |    Juneau, Alaska

Nancy Huppert             |    Rochester, New York

Charles Stokke             |    Menomonie, Wisconsin

James Amato               |    Lexington, Kentucky

Richard Neuheisel       |    Tempe, Arizona

Rodger Randle             |    Tulsa, Oklahoma

Questions? Please contact the office at 202.347.8630 or