Sister Cities International Logo

2022 Annual Awards

The 2022 Annual Award applications are closed!

2021 was a challenging year for many sister city programs.  Adjusting to the global pandemic, communities across the SCI network continue to find new and innovative ways to connect globally and thrive locally.

The Annual Awards Program highlights sister city program achievements and brings international recognition to each community’s contributions to the citizen diplomacy movement. Sister Cities International established the Annual Awards Program in 1962 to recognize exceptional sister city programs. Current dues-paying members of Sister Cities International with at least one formally recognized sister city partnership are eligible to apply for awards. The awards will recognize achievements by sister city programs in 2021.

Winners will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting on July 8, 2022 and will be highlighted on Sister Cities International’s website, social media, and in national and regional press outreach.

Applications NOW CLOSED

EXPIRED May 6, 2022 at 11:59 PM ET

Please read the eligibility requirements, rules and regulations carefully before applying. For any questions, email [email protected]

Award applications are open in the following categories:

Best Overall (organized by population)

Innovation in Arts & Culture

Innovation in Business, Trade, and Professional Exchange 

Innovation in Humanitarian Assistance

Innovation in Youth and Education

Volunteer of the Year

Youth Leadership

Please see the guidelines below for eligibility requirements for each category.

There is no cost to apply for the SCI Annual Awards Program.

To be considered for an award, all entries must be received by  May 6, 2022 at 11:59 PM ET.